Reptile · Tiliqua scincoides · typical adult weight 0.25–0.60 kg
Dioctyl Na sulfosuccinate is dosed at 1–5 mg/kg PO not stated in source in blue-tongue skinks, per Gillespie D. Reptiles. In: Birchard SJ, Sherding RG, eds. Saunders Manual of Small Animal Practice; WB Saunders, Philadelphia, PA; 1994:1390-1411. — Source: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th Ed, p.273 — Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary 6th ed, Table 4.11 (Miscellaneous Agents Used in Reptiles). The copy held is an ebook conversion with no printed page numbers, so the table — not the page — is the citable location. — SOURCE EDITION: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary — ISBN 9780323833929, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323833929. Dioctyl Na sulfosuccinate is used in blue-tongue skinks for Constipation. Routes documented in blue-tongue skinks: PO. A typical adult blue-tongue skink weighs 0.25–0.60 kg. ExoticRx lists 1 cited dose rule for Dioctyl Na sulfosuccinate in blue-tongue skinks, drawn from published veterinary references. Verify against current literature before clinical use.
| Route | Dose | Frequency | Indication | Evidence | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PO | 1–5 mg/kg | not stated in source | Constipation | Weak | Gillespie D. Reptiles. In: Birchard SJ, Sherding RG, eds. Saunders Manual of Small Animal Practice; WB Saunders, Philadelphia, PA; 1994:1390-1411. — Source: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th Ed, p.273 — Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary 6th ed, Table 4.11 (Miscellaneous Agents Used in Reptiles). The copy held is an ebook conversion with no printed page numbers, so the table — not the page — is the citable location. — SOURCE EDITION: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary — ISBN 9780323833929, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323833929 |
Every held source for this drug and species, as printed. Where they differ, both are shown — the choice is yours, not ours.
| Dose (mg/kg) | Route | Source | As printed |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1–5 | PO | Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th edTable 4.11 | 1-5 mg/kg PO |
| 1–5 | — | Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery, 3rd edTable 127.9 | 1-5 mg/kg PO101 Most species/constipation; use 1 : 20 dilution |
Figures are transcribed from the cited page or table of each held edition and are shown for reference only. They are not dose recommendations, they do not feed the calculator, and none has been reviewed by a veterinarian.
Need the exact dose for your patient?
These ranges are per kg. Enter your blue-tongue skink's weight to get the precise dose and draw-up volume — unit and concentration math done for you.
Added 2026-08-04 by the book-verification programme. Every dose rule under this entry was mined from a source, independently re-verified against that source, and adversarially challenged before publication. Drafted for: Blue-tongue Skink
Species-specific contraindications and adverse-reaction reports for blue-tongue skinks may differ from canine / feline reference data — consult the primary citations listed with each rule.
Dioctyl Na sulfosuccinate dose range in blue-tongue skinks, with cited source references: PO 1–5 mg/kg not stated in source. Reference ranges from cited sources — verify against current literature before clinical use.
Documented routes for Dioctyl Na sulfosuccinate in blue-tongue skinks: PO.
Dioctyl Na sulfosuccinate is indicated in blue-tongue skinks for: Constipation.
These are general warnings for Dioctyl Na sulfosuccinate across species; consult the blue-tongue skink dosing table above for species-specific guidance. Added 2026-08-04 by the book-verification programme. Every dose rule under this entry was mined from a source, independently re-verified against that source, and adversarially challenged before publication. Drafted for: Blue-tongue Skink
Why a species-specific page? Dioctyl Na sulfosuccinate pharmacokinetics differ across species: dose ranges, intervals, and route preferences are not interchangeable. Cross-extrapolation from canine doses is unsafe in blue-tongue skinks — the rules above are the citations specific to this species, not generic recommendations.
Sourced from published veterinary references; awaiting credentialed clinical reviewer. See our editorial process. Reference only — not veterinary advice.