Pocket Pet · Rattus norvegicus var. domestica · typical adult weight 0.25–0.70 kg
Glycopyrrolate is dosed at 0.01–0.02 mg/kg SC single dose (not stated) in pet rats, per Huerkamp M. Anesthesia and postoperative management of rabbits and pocket pets. In: Bonagura JD, eds. Kirk's Current Veterinary Therapy XII Small Animal Practice; W.B. Saunders, Philadelphia, PA; 1995:1322-1327. — Source: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th Ed, p.784 — Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary 6th ed, Table 9.3 (Chemical Restraint/Anesthetic Agents Used in Rodents). The copy held is an ebook conversion with no printed page numbers, so the table — not the page — is the citable location. — SOURCE EDITION: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary — ISBN 9780323833929, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323833929. Glycopyrrolate is used in pet rats for Excess oral or respiratory mucus; anticholinergic premedication. Routes documented in pet rats: SC. A typical adult pet rat weighs 0.25–0.70 kg. ExoticRx lists 1 cited dose rule for Glycopyrrolate in pet rats, drawn from published veterinary references. Verify against current literature before clinical use.
US trade names: Robinul-V
| Route | Dose | Frequency | Indication | Evidence | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SC | 0.01–0.02 mg/kg | single dose (not stated) | Excess oral or respiratory mucus; anticholinergic premedication | Moderate | Huerkamp M. Anesthesia and postoperative management of rabbits and pocket pets. In: Bonagura JD, eds. Kirk's Current Veterinary Therapy XII Small Animal Practice; W.B. Saunders, Philadelphia, PA; 1995:1322-1327. — Source: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th Ed, p.784 — Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary 6th ed, Table 9.3 (Chemical Restraint/Anesthetic Agents Used in Rodents). The copy held is an ebook conversion with no printed page numbers, so the table — not the page — is the citable location. — SOURCE EDITION: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary — ISBN 9780323833929, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323833929 |
Every held source for this drug and species, as printed. Where they differ, both are shown — the choice is yours, not ours.
| Dose (mg/kg) | Route | Source | As printed |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0.01–0.02 | SC | Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th edTable 9.5 | 0.01-0.02 mg/kg SC, IM, IV |
Figures are transcribed from the cited page or table of each held edition and are shown for reference only. They are not dose recommendations, they do not feed the calculator, and none has been reviewed by a veterinarian.
Need the exact dose for your patient?
These ranges are per kg. Enter your pet rat's weight to get the precise dose and draw-up volume — unit and concentration math done for you.
Quaternary ammonium anticholinergic that does not cross blood-brain barrier. Reduces secretions and increases heart rate via vagolytic effect.
Preferred over atropine when CNS effects undesirable. Used as preanesthetic and for bradycardia. Reduces GI motility. Do not use with GI obstruction.
Species-specific contraindications and adverse-reaction reports for pet rats may differ from canine / feline reference data — consult the primary citations listed with each rule.
Glycopyrrolate dose range in pet rats, with cited source references: SC 0.01–0.02 mg/kg single dose (not stated). Reference ranges from cited sources — verify against current literature before clinical use.
Documented routes for Glycopyrrolate in pet rats: SC.
Glycopyrrolate is indicated in pet rats for: Excess oral or respiratory mucus; anticholinergic premedication.
These are general warnings for Glycopyrrolate across species; consult the pet rat dosing table above for species-specific guidance. Preferred over atropine when CNS effects undesirable. Used as preanesthetic and for bradycardia. Reduces GI motility. Do not use with GI obstruction.
Why a species-specific page? Glycopyrrolate pharmacokinetics differ across species: dose ranges, intervals, and route preferences are not interchangeable. Cross-extrapolation from canine doses is unsafe in pet rats — the rules above are the citations specific to this species, not generic recommendations.
Sourced from published veterinary references; awaiting credentialed clinical reviewer. See our editorial process. Reference only — not veterinary advice.