Bird · Taeniopygia guttata · typical adult weight 0.01–0.02 kg
Hydrocortisone is dosed at 10 mg/kg IM, IV not stated in source; max 5 days total in zebra finches, per 391. Hawkins MG, Barron H, Speer BL, et al. Birds. In: Carpenter JW, eds. Exotic Animal Formulary, 4th ed., Elsevier Saunders, St. Louis, MO; 2013:183-437. — Source: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th Ed, p.462 — SOURCE EDITION: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary — ISBN 9780323833929, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323833929; Current Therapy in Avian Medicine and Surgery — ISBN 9781455746712, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9781455746712 [w3r2 2026-08-14] LOCATOR: Carpenter 6th ed, Table 5.7 (Hormones and Steroids Used in Birds), footnote a. Held copy is a paginationless ebook conversion, so the table and not the page is the citable location. SEPARATE OPEN ITEM (not fixed here, one reader only): this citation also lists Current Therapy in Avian Medicine and Surgery as a SOURCE EDITION, which has nothing to do with ref 391 and should be removed when the field is next touched.. Hydrocortisone is used in zebra finches for Glucocorticoid / anti-inflammatory. Routes documented in zebra finches: IM, IV. A typical adult zebra finch weighs 0.01–0.02 kg. ExoticRx lists 1 cited dose rule for Hydrocortisone in zebra finches, drawn from published veterinary references. Verify against current literature before clinical use.
| Route | Dose | Frequency | Indication | Evidence | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IM, IV |
| 10 mg/kg |
| not stated in source; max 5 days total |
| Glucocorticoid / anti-inflammatory |
| Weak |
| 391. Hawkins MG, Barron H, Speer BL, et al. Birds. In: Carpenter JW, eds. Exotic Animal Formulary, 4th ed., Elsevier Saunders, St. Louis, MO; 2013:183-437. — Source: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th Ed, p.462 — SOURCE EDITION: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary — ISBN 9780323833929, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323833929; Current Therapy in Avian Medicine and Surgery — ISBN 9781455746712, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9781455746712 [w3r2 2026-08-14] LOCATOR: Carpenter 6th ed, Table 5.7 (Hormones and Steroids Used in Birds), footnote a. Held copy is a paginationless ebook conversion, so the table and not the page is the citable location. SEPARATE OPEN ITEM (not fixed here, one reader only): this citation also lists Current Therapy in Avian Medicine and Surgery as a SOURCE EDITION, which has nothing to do with ref 391 and should be removed when the field is next touched. |
Need the exact dose for your patient?
These ranges are per kg. Enter your zebra finch's weight to get the precise dose and draw-up volume — unit and concentration math done for you.
Added 2026-08-04 by the book-verification programme. Every dose rule under this entry was mined from a source, independently re-verified against that source, and adversarially challenged before publication. Drafted for: Zebra Finch
Species-specific contraindications and adverse-reaction reports for zebra finches may differ from canine / feline reference data — consult the primary citations listed with each rule.
Hydrocortisone dose range in zebra finches, with cited source references: IM, IV 10 mg/kg not stated in source; max 5 days total. Reference ranges from cited sources — verify against current literature before clinical use.
Documented routes for Hydrocortisone in zebra finches: IM, IV.
Hydrocortisone is indicated in zebra finches for: Glucocorticoid / anti-inflammatory.
These are general warnings for Hydrocortisone across species; consult the zebra finch dosing table above for species-specific guidance. Added 2026-08-04 by the book-verification programme. Every dose rule under this entry was mined from a source, independently re-verified against that source, and adversarially challenged before publication. Drafted for: Zebra Finch
Why a species-specific page? Hydrocortisone pharmacokinetics differ across species: dose ranges, intervals, and route preferences are not interchangeable. Cross-extrapolation from canine doses is unsafe in zebra finches — the rules above are the citations specific to this species, not generic recommendations.
Sourced from published veterinary references; awaiting credentialed clinical reviewer. See our editorial process. Reference only — not veterinary advice.