Reptile · Python regius · typical adult weight 1.00–2.00 kg
Lidocaine is dosed at 2–5 mg/kg local infiltration not stated in source; max 10 mg/kg in ball pythons, per Carpenter JW, Klaphake E, Gibbons PM, et al. Reptile formulary. In: Divers SJ, Stahl SJ, eds. Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery, 3rd ed., Elsevier, St. Louis, MO; 2019:1191-1211. — Source: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th Ed, p.254 — Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary 6th ed, Table 4.6 (Analgesic (Including Antiinflammatory) Agents Usedin Reptiles). Located 2026-08-05: the only table covering this species in which the drug's own row prints this dose. The copy held is an ebook conversion with no printed page numbers, so the table is the citable location. — SOURCE EDITION: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary — ISBN 9780323833929, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323833929; Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery (Divers & Stahl) — ISBN 9780323482530, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323482530. Lidocaine is used in ball pythons for Local analgesia. Routes documented in ball pythons: local infiltration. A typical adult ball python weighs 1.00–2.00 kg. ExoticRx lists 1 cited dose rule for Lidocaine in ball pythons, drawn from published veterinary references. Verify against current literature before clinical use.
| Route | Dose | Frequency | Indication | Evidence | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| local infiltration | 2–5 mg/kg | not stated in source; max 10 mg/kg | Local analgesia | Weak | Carpenter JW, Klaphake E, Gibbons PM, et al. Reptile formulary. In: Divers SJ, Stahl SJ, eds. Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery, 3rd ed., Elsevier, St. Louis, MO; 2019:1191-1211. — Source: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th Ed, p.254 — Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary 6th ed, Table 4.6 (Analgesic (Including Antiinflammatory) Agents Usedin Reptiles). Located 2026-08-05: the only table covering this species in which the drug's own row prints this dose. The copy held is an ebook conversion with no printed page numbers, so the table is the citable location. — SOURCE EDITION: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary — ISBN 9780323833929, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323833929; Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery (Divers & Stahl) — ISBN 9780323482530, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323482530 |
Every held source for this drug and species, as printed. Where they differ, both are shown — the choice is yours, not ours.
| Dose (mg/kg) | Route | Source | As printed |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1–2 | — | BSAVA Small Animal Formulary, 10th ed — Part B (Exotic Pets)p.195 | 1-2 mg/kg as local infusion/nerve block |
| 2–5 | TOPICAL | Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th edTable 4.6 | 2-5 mg/kg local Local or topical 0.2 mL/10 cm carapace length intrathecal |
| 2–5 | IO | Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery, 3rd edTable 127.6 | 2-5 mg/kg local298 Local or topical295 Most species/10 mg/kg maximum dosage Most species/local analgesia; infiltrate to effect (e.g., 0.01 mL 2% lidocaine used for local block for |
Figures are transcribed from the cited page or table of each held edition and are shown for reference only. They are not dose recommendations, they do not feed the calculator, and none has been reviewed by a veterinarian.
Need the exact dose for your patient?
These ranges are per kg. Enter your ball python's weight to get the precise dose and draw-up volume — unit and concentration math done for you.
Lidocaine dose range in ball pythons, with cited source references: local infiltration 2–5 mg/kg not stated in source; max 10 mg/kg. Reference ranges from cited sources — verify against current literature before clinical use.
Documented routes for Lidocaine in ball pythons: local infiltration.
Lidocaine is indicated in ball pythons for: Local analgesia.
Why a species-specific page? Lidocaine pharmacokinetics differ across species: dose ranges, intervals, and route preferences are not interchangeable. Cross-extrapolation from canine doses is unsafe in ball pythons — the rules above are the citations specific to this species, not generic recommendations.
Sourced from published veterinary references; awaiting credentialed clinical reviewer. See our editorial process. Reference only — not veterinary advice.