Pocket Pet · Rattus norvegicus var. domestica · typical adult weight 0.25–0.70 kg
Vitamin D is dosed at 200–400 IU/kg SC, IM not stated in source in pet rats, per Mayer J. Rodents. In: Carpenter JW, eds. Exotic Animal Formulary, 4th ed., Saunders/Elsevier, St. Louis, MO; 2013:476-516. — Source: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th Ed, p.803 — Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary 6th ed, Table 9.7 (Miscellaneous Agents Used in Rodents). Located 2026-08-05: the only table covering this species in which the drug's own row prints this dose. The copy held is an ebook conversion with no printed page numbers, so the table is the citable location. — SOURCE EDITION: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary — ISBN 9780323833929, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323833929. Vitamin D is used in pet rats for Vitamin D supplementation. Routes documented in pet rats: SC, IM. A typical adult pet rat weighs 0.25–0.70 kg. ExoticRx lists 1 cited dose rule for Vitamin D in pet rats, drawn from published veterinary references. Verify against current literature before clinical use.
US trade names: Calcitriol, Cholecalciferol
| Route | Dose | Frequency | Indication | Evidence | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SC, IM | 200–400 IU/kg | not stated in source | Vitamin D supplementation | Weak | Mayer J. Rodents. In: Carpenter JW, eds. Exotic Animal Formulary, 4th ed., Saunders/Elsevier, St. Louis, MO; 2013:476-516. — Source: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th Ed, p.803 — Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary 6th ed, Table 9.7 (Miscellaneous Agents Used in Rodents). Located 2026-08-05: the only table covering this species in which the drug's own row prints this dose. The copy held is an ebook conversion with no printed page numbers, so the table is the citable location. — SOURCE EDITION: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary — ISBN 9780323833929, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323833929 |
Need the exact dose for your patient?
These ranges are per kg. Enter your pet rat's weight to get the precise dose and draw-up volume — unit and concentration math done for you.
Active form (calcitriol) binds VDR promoting intestinal calcium and phosphorus absorption, bone mineralization, and parathyroid hormone regulation.
Calcitriol: used for renal secondary hyperparathyroidism and hypoparathyroidism. Narrow therapeutic index — hypercalcemia risk. Monitor ionized calcium frequently. Do not confuse calcitriol with cholecalciferol.
Species-specific contraindications and adverse-reaction reports for pet rats may differ from canine / feline reference data — consult the primary citations listed with each rule.
Vitamin D dose range in pet rats, with cited source references: SC, IM 200–400 IU/kg not stated in source. Reference ranges from cited sources — verify against current literature before clinical use.
Documented routes for Vitamin D in pet rats: SC, IM.
Vitamin D is indicated in pet rats for: Vitamin D supplementation.
These are general warnings for Vitamin D across species; consult the pet rat dosing table above for species-specific guidance. Calcitriol: used for renal secondary hyperparathyroidism and hypoparathyroidism. Narrow therapeutic index — hypercalcemia risk. Monitor ionized calcium frequently. Do not confuse calcitriol with cholecalciferol.
Why a species-specific page? Vitamin D pharmacokinetics differ across species: dose ranges, intervals, and route preferences are not interchangeable. Cross-extrapolation from canine doses is unsafe in pet rats — the rules above are the citations specific to this species, not generic recommendations.
Sourced from published veterinary references; awaiting credentialed clinical reviewer. See our editorial process. Reference only — not veterinary advice.