Reptile · Eublepharis macularius · typical adult weight 0.04–0.10 kg
Enrofloxacin is dosed at 10 mg/kg PO not stated in source in leopard geckos, per 7. Agius JE, Kimble B, Govendir M, et al. Pharmacokinetic profile of enrofloxacin and its metabolite ciprofloxacin in Asian house geckos (Hemidactylus frenatus) after single-dose oral administration of enrofloxacin. Vet Anim Sci; 2020:100- 116. — Source: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th Ed, p.216 — Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary 6th ed, Table 4.1 (Antimicrobial Agents Used in Reptiles.a,b). The copy held is an ebook conversion with no printed page numbers, so the table — not the page — is the citable location. — SOURCE EDITION: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary — ISBN 9780323833929, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323833929. Enrofloxacin is used in leopard geckos for Susceptible bacterial infection (MIC <=0.5 ug/mL). Routes documented in leopard geckos: PO. A typical adult leopard gecko weighs 0.04–0.10 kg. ExoticRx lists 1 cited dose rule for Enrofloxacin in leopard geckos, drawn from published veterinary references. Verify against current literature before clinical use.
US trade names: Baytril
| Route | Dose | Frequency | Indication | Evidence | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PO | 10 mg/kg | not stated in source | Susceptible bacterial infection (MIC <=0.5 ug/mL) | Weak | 7. Agius JE, Kimble B, Govendir M, et al. Pharmacokinetic profile of enrofloxacin and its metabolite ciprofloxacin in Asian house geckos (Hemidactylus frenatus) after single-dose oral administration of enrofloxacin. Vet Anim Sci; 2020:100- 116. — Source: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th Ed, p.216 — Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary 6th ed, Table 4.1 (Antimicrobial Agents Used in Reptiles.a,b). The copy held is an ebook conversion with no printed page numbers, so the table — not the page — is the citable location. — SOURCE EDITION: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary — ISBN 9780323833929, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323833929 |
Every held source for this drug and species, as printed. Where they differ, both are shown — the choice is yours, not ours.
The sources disagree for this combination. The ranges below do not overlap on a comparable route. This is not an error in one of them — published veterinary references differ, and reconciling them for a particular patient is a clinical judgement.
| Dose (mg/kg) | Route | Source | As printed |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5–13 | PO | Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th edTable 4.1 | 5-13 mg/kg PO, IM q24-48h |
| 10 | PO | Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th edTable 4.1 | 10 mg/kg PO |
| 10 | IM | Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th edTable 4.1 | 10 mg/kg IM q24h 5 mg/kg IM q24-48h C 5 mg/kg IM q12-24h C |
| 5 | IM | Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th ed |
Need the exact dose for your patient?
These ranges are per kg. Enter your leopard gecko's weight to get the precise dose and draw-up volume — unit and concentration math done for you.
Inhibits bacterial DNA gyrase and topoisomerase IV, preventing DNA replication and transcription.
Avoid in growing animals (cartilage damage). Do NOT use in cats at doses >5mg/kg (retinal toxicity). Avoid concurrent use with theophylline.
Species-specific contraindications and adverse-reaction reports for leopard geckos may differ from canine / feline reference data — consult the primary citations listed with each rule.
Enrofloxacin dose range in leopard geckos, with cited source references: PO 10 mg/kg not stated in source. Reference ranges from cited sources — verify against current literature before clinical use.
Documented routes for Enrofloxacin in leopard geckos: PO.
Enrofloxacin is indicated in leopard geckos for: Susceptible bacterial infection (MIC <=0.5 ug/mL).
These are general warnings for Enrofloxacin across species; consult the leopard gecko dosing table above for species-specific guidance. Avoid in growing animals (cartilage damage). Do NOT use in cats at doses >5mg/kg (retinal toxicity). Avoid concurrent use with theophylline.
Why a species-specific page? Enrofloxacin pharmacokinetics differ across species: dose ranges, intervals, and route preferences are not interchangeable. Cross-extrapolation from canine doses is unsafe in leopard geckos — the rules above are the citations specific to this species, not generic recommendations.
Sourced from published veterinary references; awaiting credentialed clinical reviewer. See our editorial process. Reference only — not veterinary advice.
| 10 mg/kg IM q24h 5 mg/kg IM q24-48h C 5 mg/kg IM q12-24h C |
| 5–10 | IM | Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery, 3rd edTable 127.1 | 5-10 mg/kg q24h PO, SC, IM, ICe99 Most species/IM administration is painful and may result in tissue necrosis and sterile abscesses; may cause skin discoloration or tissue necrosis |
| 5 | PO | Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery, 3rd edTable 127.1 | 5 mg/kg PO, IM q24h218 Lizards/PD (green iguanas); marked pharmacokinetic variability with PO administration may make IM more suitable in critically ill animals |
| 10 | IM | Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery, 3rd edTable 127.1 | 10 mg/kg IM q5d136 Monitors/PK (savannah monitors); preliminary data |
| 5–10 | ICE | Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery, 3rd edTable 128.1 | 5-10 mg/kg PO, SC, IM q24h52 Most species/PK (bullfrogs);52 ICe and topical routes also used but with limited PK data52 |
| 10 | — | Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery, 3rd edTable 128.1 | 10 mg/kg topically46 500 mg/L x 6-8 hr batha q24h52 Coqui frogs/detectable tissue concentration for >24 hr, no correlation to plasma concentration |
| Dose (mg/l) | Route | Source | As printed |
|---|---|---|---|
| 500 | — | Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery, 3rd edTable 128.1 | 10 mg/kg topically46 500 mg/L x 6-8 hr batha q24h52 Coqui frogs/detectable tissue concentration for >24 hr, no correlation to plasma concentration |
Figures are transcribed from the cited page or table of each held edition and are shown for reference only. They are not dose recommendations, they do not feed the calculator, and none has been reviewed by a veterinarian.