Pocket Pet · Mustela putorius furo · typical adult weight 0.60–2.00 kg
Etomidate is dosed at 1 mg/kg IV not stated in source in ferrets, per Johnson-Delaney C. Ferrets: anaesthesia and analgesia. In: Keeble E, Meredith A, eds. BSAVA Manual of Rodents and Ferrets; British Small Animal Veterinary Association, Gloucester, UK; 2009:245-253. — Source: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th Ed, p.940 — Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary 6th ed, Table 11.5 (Chemical Restraint/Anesthetic Agents Used in Ferrets). The copy held is an ebook conversion with no printed page numbers, so the table — not the page — is the citable location. — SOURCE RE-VERIFIED (wave 3, two readers): the 2026-08-07 unverifiable finding was an artefact of checking BSAVA Part A (Canine and Feline), which is NOT the book this citation names. Reference 57 is confirmed verbatim in Carpenter's ferret reference list. The BSAVA Part A ISBN mapping in the SOURCE EDITION block below is wrong and should be dropped. No ISBN is asserted for BSAVA Manual of Rodents and Ferrets because none was retrieved. The reference cannot be confirmed here and the page, if any, is unchecked. It is deliberately NOT re-pointed at another text that does mention the molecule — that would assert a provenance this dose never had. Confirm against the source directly before use. — SOURCE EDITION: BSAVA Small Animal Formulary, Part A — Canine and Feline — ISBN 9781910443705, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9781910443705; Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary — ISBN 9780323833929, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323833929. Etomidate is used in ferrets for Induction and intubation of the critically ill patient. Routes documented in ferrets: IV. A typical adult ferret weighs 0.60–2.00 kg. ExoticRx lists 1 cited dose rule for Etomidate in ferrets, drawn from published veterinary references. Verify against current literature before clinical use.
US trade names: Amidate
| Route | Dose | Frequency | Indication | Evidence | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IV | 1 mg/kg | not stated in source | Induction and intubation of the critically ill patient | Moderate | Johnson-Delaney C. Ferrets: anaesthesia and analgesia. In: Keeble E, Meredith A, eds. BSAVA Manual of Rodents and Ferrets; British Small Animal Veterinary Association, Gloucester, UK; 2009:245-253. — Source: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th Ed, p.940 — Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary 6th ed, Table 11.5 (Chemical Restraint/Anesthetic Agents Used in Ferrets). The copy held is an ebook conversion with no printed page numbers, so the table — not the page — is the citable location. — SOURCE RE-VERIFIED (wave 3, two readers): the 2026-08-07 unverifiable finding was an artefact of checking BSAVA Part A (Canine and Feline), which is NOT the book this citation names. Reference 57 is confirmed verbatim in Carpenter's ferret reference list. The BSAVA Part A ISBN mapping in the SOURCE EDITION block below is wrong and should be dropped. No ISBN is asserted for BSAVA Manual of Rodents and Ferrets because none was retrieved. The reference cannot be confirmed here and the page, if any, is unchecked. It is deliberately NOT re-pointed at another text that does mention the molecule — that would assert a provenance this dose never had. Confirm against the source directly before use. — SOURCE EDITION: BSAVA Small Animal Formulary, Part A — Canine and Feline — ISBN 9781910443705, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9781910443705; Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary — ISBN 9780323833929, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323833929 |
Every held source for this drug and species, as printed. Where they differ, both are shown — the choice is yours, not ours.
| Dose (mg/kg) | Route | Source | As printed |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | IV | Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th edTable 11.5 | 1 mg/kg IV |
Figures are transcribed from the cited page or table of each held edition and are shown for reference only. They are not dose recommendations, they do not feed the calculator, and none has been reviewed by a veterinarian.
Need the exact dose for your patient?
These ranges are per kg. Enter your ferret's weight to get the precise dose and draw-up volume — unit and concentration math done for you.
Enhances GABA-A receptor activity producing rapid onset, ultra-short acting anesthesia. Minimal cardiovascular effects.
Causes adrenocortical suppression (single dose suppresses cortisol 2-6 hrs). Pain and myoclonus on injection. Propylene glycol vehicle may cause hemolysis. Reserve for cardiovascularly compromised patients.
Species-specific contraindications and adverse-reaction reports for ferrets may differ from canine / feline reference data — consult the primary citations listed with each rule.
Etomidate dose range in ferrets, with cited source references: IV 1 mg/kg not stated in source. Reference ranges from cited sources — verify against current literature before clinical use.
Documented routes for Etomidate in ferrets: IV.
Etomidate is indicated in ferrets for: Induction and intubation of the critically ill patient.
These are general warnings for Etomidate across species; consult the ferret dosing table above for species-specific guidance. Causes adrenocortical suppression (single dose suppresses cortisol 2-6 hrs). Pain and myoclonus on injection. Propylene glycol vehicle may cause hemolysis. Reserve for cardiovascularly compromised patients.
Why a species-specific page? Etomidate pharmacokinetics differ across species: dose ranges, intervals, and route preferences are not interchangeable. Cross-extrapolation from canine doses is unsafe in ferrets — the rules above are the citations specific to this species, not generic recommendations.
Sourced from published veterinary references; awaiting credentialed clinical reviewer. See our editorial process. Reference only — not veterinary advice.