Reptile · Terrapene carolina · typical adult weight 0.30–0.60 kg
Vitamin A is dosed at 200–300 IU/kg SC, IM not stated in eastern box turtles, per 74. Donoghue S. Nutrition. In: Mader DR, ed. Reptile Medicine and Surgery. 2nd ed. St. Louis: Saunders/Elsevier; 2006:251-298. — Source: Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery, 3rd Ed, p.1418 — SOURCE EDITION: Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery (Divers & Stahl) — ISBN 9780323482530, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323482530. Vitamin A is used in eastern box turtles for hypovitaminosis A. Routes documented in eastern box turtles: SC, IM. A typical adult eastern box turtle weighs 0.30–0.60 kg. ExoticRx lists 1 cited dose rule for Vitamin A in eastern box turtles, drawn from published veterinary references. Verify against current literature before clinical use.
| Route | Dose | Frequency | Indication | Evidence | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SC, IM | 200–300 IU/kg | not stated | hypovitaminosis A | Weak | 74. Donoghue S. Nutrition. In: Mader DR, ed. Reptile Medicine and Surgery. 2nd ed. St. Louis: Saunders/Elsevier; 2006:251-298. — Source: Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery, 3rd Ed, p.1418 — SOURCE EDITION: Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery (Divers & Stahl) — ISBN 9780323482530, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323482530 |
Every held source for this drug and species, as printed. Where they differ, both are shown — the choice is yours, not ours.
The sources disagree for this combination. The ranges below do not overlap on a comparable route. This is not an error in one of them — published veterinary references differ, and reconciling them for a particular patient is a clinical judgement.
| Dose (iu/kg) | Route | Source | As printed |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1000–2000 | PO | BSAVA Small Animal Formulary, 10th ed — Part B (Exotic Pets)p.313 | 1000-2000 IU/kg p.o. q7-14d |
| 2000 | PO | Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery, 3rd edTable 127.8 | 2000 U/kg PO, SC, IM q7-14d × 2-4 treatments34,37 2000 U/30 g BW PO once, repeat in 7 days114,314 Most species/hypovitaminosis A Chameleons/eye swelling, respiratory disease, hemip |
| 200–300 | PO | Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery, 3rd edTable 127.8 | 200-300 U/kg74 SC, IM Turtles/hypovitaminosis A; give in conjunction with PO vitamin A (2-8 U/g feed DM) |
Need the exact dose for your patient?
These ranges are per kg. Enter your eastern box turtle's weight to get the precise dose and draw-up volume — unit and concentration math done for you.
Essential fat-soluble vitamin required for vision, epithelial integrity, immune function, and reproduction. Deficiency common in captive reptiles and turtles on inadequate diets.
NARROW therapeutic index — hypervitaminosis A causes hepatotoxicity and skin sloughing. Do not overdose. Particularly important in chelonians and box turtles. Toxicity signs include skin peeling.
Species-specific contraindications and adverse-reaction reports for eastern box turtles may differ from canine / feline reference data — consult the primary citations listed with each rule.
Vitamin A dose range in eastern box turtles, with cited source references: SC, IM 200–300 IU/kg not stated. Reference ranges from cited sources — verify against current literature before clinical use.
Documented routes for Vitamin A in eastern box turtles: SC, IM.
Vitamin A is indicated in eastern box turtles for: hypovitaminosis A.
These are general warnings for Vitamin A across species; consult the eastern box turtle dosing table above for species-specific guidance. NARROW therapeutic index — hypervitaminosis A causes hepatotoxicity and skin sloughing. Do not overdose. Particularly important in chelonians and box turtles. Toxicity signs include skin peeling.
Why a species-specific page? Vitamin A pharmacokinetics differ across species: dose ranges, intervals, and route preferences are not interchangeable. Cross-extrapolation from canine doses is unsafe in eastern box turtles — the rules above are the citations specific to this species, not generic recommendations.
Sourced from published veterinary references; awaiting credentialed clinical reviewer. See our editorial process. Reference only — not veterinary advice.
Figures are transcribed from the cited page or table of each held edition and are shown for reference only. They are not dose recommendations, they do not feed the calculator, and none has been reviewed by a veterinarian.