Reptile · Pogona vitticeps · typical adult weight 0.38–0.51 kg
Calcium Gluconate is dosed at 50–100 mg/kg IV not stated in source in bearded dragons, per Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th ed., Table 4.9 (Nutritional/mineral/fluid support used in reptiles), p.263 — Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary 6th ed, Table 4.9 (Nutritional/Mineral/Fluid Support Used in Reptiles.a). The copy held is an ebook conversion with no printed page numbers, so the table — not the page — is the citable location. — SOURCE EDITION: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary — ISBN 9780323833929, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323833929. Calcium Gluconate is used in bearded dragons for Hypocalcemia, metabolic bone disease (acute), Acute hypocalcemia (low ionized Ca) - hypocalcemic muscle tremors, seizures, dystocia, or flaccid paresis in lizards. Switch to oral calcium when the patient is stable., Chronic MBD supplementation. Routes documented in bearded dragons: IV, SC. A typical adult bearded dragon weighs 0.38–0.51 kg. ExoticRx lists 3 cited dose rules for Calcium Gluconate in bearded dragons, drawn from published veterinary references. Verify against current literature before clinical use.
| Route | Dose | Frequency | Duration | Indication | Evidence | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IV | 50–100 mg/kg | not stated in source | Until stabilized | Hypocalcemia, metabolic bone disease (acute) | Extrapolated | Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th ed., Table 4.9 (Nutritional/mineral/fluid support used in reptiles), p.263 — Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary 6th ed, Table 4.9 (Nutritional/Mineral/Fluid Support Used in Reptiles.a). The copy held is an ebook conversion with no printed page numbers, so the table — not the page — is the citable location. — SOURCE EDITION: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary — ISBN 9780323833929, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323833929 |
| SC | 50–100 mg/kg | q24h | Until calcium levels stable | Acute hypocalcemia (low ionized Ca) - hypocalcemic muscle tremors, seizures, dystocia, or flaccid paresis in lizards. Switch to oral calcium when the patient is stable. | Moderate | Mans C, Braun J. Update on common nutritional disorders of captive reptiles. Vet Clin North Am Exot Anim Pract. 2014;17:369-395. doi:10.1016/j.cvex.2014.05.002 — Verified against Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th Ed, p.263 (2026-08-01). — Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary 6th ed, Table 4.9 (Nutritional/Mineral/Fluid Support Used in Reptiles.a). The copy held is an ebook conversion with no printed page numbers, so the table — not the page — is the citable location. — SOURCE EDITION: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary — ISBN 9780323833929, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323833929 |
| SC | 50–100 mg/kg | q12-24h | Until calcium levels normal | Chronic MBD supplementation | Moderate | Mans C, Braun J. Update on common nutritional disorders of captive reptiles. Vet Clin North Am Exot Anim Pract. 2014;17:369-395. doi:10.1016/j.cvex.2014.05.002; Benne[tt] RA. Management of common reptile emergencies. Proc Annu Conf Assoc Rept Amph Vet; 1998:67-72.; McArthur SD.J, Wilkinson RJ, Barrows MG. Tortoises and turtles. In: Meredith A, Redrobe S, eds. BSAVA Manual of Exotic Pets, 4th ed., British Small Animal Veterinary Association, Gloucestershire, GB; 2002:208-222. — Verified against Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th Ed, p.263 (2026-08-01). — Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary 6th ed, Table 4.9 (Nutritional/Mineral/Fluid Support Used in Reptiles.a). The copy held is an ebook conversion with no printed page numbers, so the table — not the page — is the citable location. — LOCATOR CONVENTION 2026-08-07: the bare 'p.263' in this citation is the PDF index of the held scan, not the printed page. The PRINTED page is p.249; verified by finding the drug named there. If you are holding the book, turn to p.249. — SOURCE EDITION: BSAVA Small Animal Formulary, Part B — Exotic Pets — ISBN 9781910443712, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9781910443712; Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary — ISBN 9780323833929, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323833929 |
Every held source for this drug and species, as printed. Where they differ, both are shown — the choice is yours, not ours.
The sources disagree for this combination. The ranges below do not overlap on a comparable route. This is not an error in one of them — published veterinary references differ, and reconciling them for a particular patient is a clinical judgement.
| Dose (%) | Route | Source | As printed |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2.3 | — | Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery, 3rd edTable 128.6 | 2.3% continuous bath (with 2-3 U/mL vitamin D3)52 Nutritional secondary hyperparathyroidism |
| Dose (mg/kg) | Route | Source | As printed |
|---|---|---|---|
| 100 | SC | Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th edTable 4.9 | 100 mg/kg SC, IM, ICe q6- 24h,316 |
| 50–100 | SC |
Need the exact dose for your patient?
These ranges are per kg. Enter your bearded dragon's weight to get the precise dose and draw-up volume — unit and concentration math done for you.
Provides ionized calcium for neuromuscular function, cardiac conduction, and bone metabolism. Cardioprotective against hyperkalemia.
IV administration must be SLOW with ECG monitoring (cardiac arrest risk). Tissue necrosis if given SC undiluted at high concentrations. Dilute for SC use. Monitor ionized calcium levels.
Species-specific contraindications and adverse-reaction reports for bearded dragons may differ from canine / feline reference data — consult the primary citations listed with each rule.
Calcium Gluconate dose ranges in bearded dragons, with cited source references: IV 50–100 mg/kg not stated in source; SC 50–100 mg/kg q24h; SC 50–100 mg/kg q12-24h. Reference ranges from cited sources — verify against current literature before clinical use.
Documented routes for Calcium Gluconate in bearded dragons: IV, SC.
Cited course lengths for Calcium Gluconate in bearded dragons include: Until stabilized; Until calcium levels stable; Until calcium levels normal. Duration depends on the indication — match it to the specific dose rule in the table above.
Calcium Gluconate is indicated in bearded dragons for: Hypocalcemia, metabolic bone disease (acute), Acute hypocalcemia (low ionized Ca) - hypocalcemic muscle tremors, seizures, dystocia, or flaccid paresis in lizards. Switch to oral calcium when the patient is stable., Chronic MBD supplementation.
These are general warnings for Calcium Gluconate across species; consult the bearded dragon dosing table above for species-specific guidance. IV administration must be SLOW with ECG monitoring (cardiac arrest risk). Tissue necrosis if given SC undiluted at high concentrations. Dilute for SC use. Monitor ionized calcium levels.
Why a species-specific page? Calcium Gluconate pharmacokinetics differ across species: dose ranges, intervals, and route preferences are not interchangeable. Cross-extrapolation from canine doses is unsafe in bearded dragons — the rules above are the citations specific to this species, not generic recommendations.
Sourced from published veterinary references; awaiting credentialed clinical reviewer. See our editorial process. Reference only — not veterinary advice.
| Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th edTable 4.9 |
| 50-100 mg/kg SC, IM, IV M |
| 100–200 | — | Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery, 3rd edTable 128.6 | 100-200 mg/kg SC52 Hypocalcemic tetany |
| 100 | PO | Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery, 3rd edTable 127.7 | 50-100 mg/kg SC, IM, IV208 100 mg/kg SC, IM, ICe200,220 q6-2 Most species/hypocalcemia (low ionized Ca); hypocalcemic muscle tremors, seizures, dystocia, or flaccid paresis in liza |
| 50–100 | PO | Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery, 3rd edTable 127.7 | 50-100 mg/kg SC, IM, IV208 100 mg/kg SC, IM, ICe200,220 q6-2 Most species/hypocalcemia (low ionized Ca); hypocalcemic muscle tremors, seizures, dystocia, or flaccid paresis in liza |
| 10–50 | SC | Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery, 3rd edTable 127.7 | 10-50 mg/kg SC, IM91 Most species/hypocalcemia; hypocalcemic dystocia |
Figures are transcribed from the cited page or table of each held edition and are shown for reference only. They are not dose recommendations, they do not feed the calculator, and none has been reviewed by a veterinarian.