Reptile · Correlophus ciliatus · typical adult weight 0.04–0.06 kg
Calcium Gluconate is dosed at 10–50 mg/kg SC, IM not stated in crested geckos, per Carpenter JW, Klaphake E, Gibbons PM, et al. Reptile formulary. In: Divers SJ, Stahl SJ, eds. Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery, 3rd ed., Elsevier, St. Louis, MO; 2019:1191-1211. — Source: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th Ed, p.263 — Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary 6th ed, Table 4.9 (Nutritional/Mineral/Fluid Support Used in Reptiles.a). Located 2026-08-05: the only table covering this species in which the drug's own row prints this dose. The copy held is an ebook conversion with no printed page numbers, so the table is the citable location. — SOURCE EDITION: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary — ISBN 9780323833929, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323833929; Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery (Divers & Stahl) — ISBN 9780323482530, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323482530 [w3r2 2026-08-14] DRUG IDENTITY UNRESOLVED - THIS CITATION FIX DOES NOT CLOSE THE FINDING. The served 10-50 mg/kg SC, IM is printed at Carpenter 6th ed, Table 4.9 (Nutritional/Mineral/Fluid Support Used in Reptiles) under the agent heading "Calcium gluconate/borogluconate", NOT under plain "Calcium gluconate". On the SAME page the separate agent "Calcium gluconate" prints "50-100 mg/kg SC, IM, IV296" and "100 mg/kg SC, IM, ICe q6-24h32,316" for the same indication, and "Calcium glycerophosphate/calcium lactate" prints a third figure of 1-5 mg/kg. Mader 3rd ed Table 127.8 prints the identical three-way split, so this book does not treat calcium salts as interchangeable on mg/kg. Superscript 63 = Carpenter JW, Klaphake E, Gibbons PM, et al, Reptile formulary, in Mader Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery 3rd ed, 2019:1191-1211. AN EDITOR MUST DECIDE whether these two salts may share one formulary entry. No dose figure is proposed for change.. Calcium Gluconate is used in crested geckos for Hypocalcemia; hypocalcemic dystocia, Hypocalcemia (low ionized Ca); hypocalcemic muscle tremors, seizures, dystocia, or flaccid paresis in lizards. Routes documented in crested geckos: SC, IM, SC, IM, ICe, SC, IM, IV. A typical adult crested gecko weighs 0.04–0.06 kg. ExoticRx lists 3 cited dose rules for Calcium Gluconate in crested geckos, drawn from published veterinary references. Verify against current literature before clinical use.
| Route | Dose | Frequency | Indication | Evidence | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SC, IM | 10–50 mg/kg | not stated | Hypocalcemia; hypocalcemic dystocia | Weak | Carpenter JW, Klaphake E, Gibbons PM, et al. Reptile formulary. In: Divers SJ, Stahl SJ, eds. Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery, 3rd ed., Elsevier, St. Louis, MO; 2019:1191-1211. — Source: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th Ed, p.263 — Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary 6th ed, Table 4.9 (Nutritional/Mineral/Fluid Support Used in Reptiles.a). Located 2026-08-05: the only table covering this species in which the drug's own row prints this dose. The copy held is an ebook conversion with no printed page numbers, so the table is the citable location. — SOURCE EDITION: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary — ISBN 9780323833929, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323833929; Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery (Divers & Stahl) — ISBN 9780323482530, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323482530 [w3r2 2026-08-14] DRUG IDENTITY UNRESOLVED - THIS CITATION FIX DOES NOT CLOSE THE FINDING. The served 10-50 mg/kg SC, IM is printed at Carpenter 6th ed, Table 4.9 (Nutritional/Mineral/Fluid Support Used in Reptiles) under the agent heading "Calcium gluconate/borogluconate", NOT under plain "Calcium gluconate". On the SAME page the separate agent "Calcium gluconate" prints "50-100 mg/kg SC, IM, IV296" and "100 mg/kg SC, IM, ICe q6-24h32,316" for the same indication, and "Calcium glycerophosphate/calcium lactate" prints a third figure of 1-5 mg/kg. Mader 3rd ed Table 127.8 prints the identical three-way split, so this book does not treat calcium salts as interchangeable on mg/kg. Superscript 63 = Carpenter JW, Klaphake E, Gibbons PM, et al, Reptile formulary, in Mader Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery 3rd ed, 2019:1191-1211. AN EDITOR MUST DECIDE whether these two salts may share one formulary entry. No dose figure is proposed for change. |
Every held source for this drug and species, as printed. Where they differ, both are shown — the choice is yours, not ours.
The sources disagree for this combination. The ranges below do not overlap on a comparable route. This is not an error in one of them — published veterinary references differ, and reconciling them for a particular patient is a clinical judgement.
| Dose (%) | Route | Source | As printed |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2.3 | — | Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery, 3rd edTable 128.6 | 2.3% continuous bath (with 2-3 U/mL vitamin D3)52 Nutritional secondary hyperparathyroidism |
| Dose (mg/kg) | Route | Source | As printed |
|---|---|---|---|
| 100 | SC | Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th edTable 4.9 | 100 mg/kg SC, IM, ICe q6- 24h,316 |
| 50–100 | SC |
Need the exact dose for your patient?
These ranges are per kg. Enter your crested gecko's weight to get the precise dose and draw-up volume — unit and concentration math done for you.
Provides ionized calcium for neuromuscular function, cardiac conduction, and bone metabolism. Cardioprotective against hyperkalemia.
IV administration must be SLOW with ECG monitoring (cardiac arrest risk). Tissue necrosis if given SC undiluted at high concentrations. Dilute for SC use. Monitor ionized calcium levels.
Species-specific contraindications and adverse-reaction reports for crested geckos may differ from canine / feline reference data — consult the primary citations listed with each rule.
Calcium Gluconate dose ranges in crested geckos, with cited source references: SC, IM 10–50 mg/kg not stated; SC, IM, ICe 100 mg/kg q6-24h; SC, IM, IV 50–100 mg/kg not stated in source. Reference ranges from cited sources — verify against current literature before clinical use.
Documented routes for Calcium Gluconate in crested geckos: SC, IM, SC, IM, ICe, SC, IM, IV.
Calcium Gluconate is indicated in crested geckos for: Hypocalcemia; hypocalcemic dystocia, Hypocalcemia (low ionized Ca); hypocalcemic muscle tremors, seizures, dystocia, or flaccid paresis in lizards.
These are general warnings for Calcium Gluconate across species; consult the crested gecko dosing table above for species-specific guidance. IV administration must be SLOW with ECG monitoring (cardiac arrest risk). Tissue necrosis if given SC undiluted at high concentrations. Dilute for SC use. Monitor ionized calcium levels.
Why a species-specific page? Calcium Gluconate pharmacokinetics differ across species: dose ranges, intervals, and route preferences are not interchangeable. Cross-extrapolation from canine doses is unsafe in crested geckos — the rules above are the citations specific to this species, not generic recommendations.
Sourced from published veterinary references; awaiting credentialed clinical reviewer. See our editorial process. Reference only — not veterinary advice.
| SC, IM, ICe | 100 mg/kg | q6-24h | Hypocalcemia (low ionized Ca); hypocalcemic muscle tremors, seizures, dystocia, or flaccid paresis in lizards | Weak | 32. Bennett RA. Management of common reptile emergencies. Proc Annu Conf Assoc Rept Amph Vet; 1998:67-72. || 316. McArthur SDJ, Wilkinson RJ, Barrows MG. Tortoises and turtles. In: Meredith A, Redrobe S, eds. BSAVA Manual of Exotic Pets, 4th ed., British Small Animal Veterinary Association, Gloucestershire, GB; 2002:208-222. — Source: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th Ed, p.263 — Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary 6th ed, Table 4.9 (Nutritional/Mineral/Fluid Support Used in Reptiles.a). The copy held is an ebook conversion with no printed page numbers, so the table — not the page — is the citable location. — LOCATOR CONVENTION 2026-08-07: the bare 'p.263' in this citation is the PDF index of the held scan, not the printed page. The PRINTED page is p.249; verified by finding the drug named there. If you are holding the book, turn to p.249. — SOURCE EDITION: BSAVA Small Animal Formulary, Part B — Exotic Pets — ISBN 9781910443712, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9781910443712; Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary — ISBN 9780323833929, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323833929 |
| SC, IM, IV | 50–100 mg/kg | not stated in source | Hypocalcemia (low ionized Ca); hypocalcemic muscle tremors, seizures, dystocia, or flaccid paresis in lizards | Weak | Mans C, Braun J. Update on common nutritional disorders of captive reptiles. Vet Clin North Am Exot Anim Pract. 2014;17:369-395. — Source: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th Ed, p.263 — Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary 6th ed, Table 4.9 (Nutritional/Mineral/Fluid Support Used in Reptiles.a). The copy held is an ebook conversion with no printed page numbers, so the table — not the page — is the citable location. — SOURCE EDITION: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary — ISBN 9780323833929, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323833929 |
| Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th edTable 4.9 |
| 50-100 mg/kg SC, IM, IV M |
| 100–200 | — | Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery, 3rd edTable 128.6 | 100-200 mg/kg SC52 Hypocalcemic tetany |
| 100 | PO | Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery, 3rd edTable 127.7 | 50-100 mg/kg SC, IM, IV208 100 mg/kg SC, IM, ICe200,220 q6-2 Most species/hypocalcemia (low ionized Ca); hypocalcemic muscle tremors, seizures, dystocia, or flaccid paresis in liza |
| 50–100 | PO | Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery, 3rd edTable 127.7 | 50-100 mg/kg SC, IM, IV208 100 mg/kg SC, IM, ICe200,220 q6-2 Most species/hypocalcemia (low ionized Ca); hypocalcemic muscle tremors, seizures, dystocia, or flaccid paresis in liza |
| 10–50 | SC | Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery, 3rd edTable 127.7 | 10-50 mg/kg SC, IM91 Most species/hypocalcemia; hypocalcemic dystocia |
Figures are transcribed from the cited page or table of each held edition and are shown for reference only. They are not dose recommendations, they do not feed the calculator, and none has been reviewed by a veterinarian.