Pocket Pet · Mus musculus · typical adult weight 0.02–0.04 kg
Acepromazine is dosed at 0.5–1 mg/kg IM Not stated in mice, per 130. Morrisey JK, Carpenter JW. Formulary. In: Quesenberry KE, Carpenter JW, eds. Ferrets, Rabbits, and Rodents: Clinical Medicine and Surgery, 4th ed., Elsevier, St. Louis, MO; 2021:620-630.; 172. Wenger S. Anesthesia and analgesia in rabbits and rodents. J Exot Pet Med. 2012;21:7-16. — Source: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th Ed, p.782 — Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary 6th ed, Table 9.3 (Chemical Restraint/Anesthetic Agents Used in Rodents). Acepromazine is used in mice for Sedation / premedication. Routes documented in mice: IM. A typical adult mouse weighs 0.02–0.04 kg. ExoticRx lists 1 cited dose rule for Acepromazine in mice, drawn from published veterinary references. Verify against current literature before clinical use.
US trade names: PromAce, Atravet
| Route | Dose | Frequency | Indication | Evidence | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IM | 0.5–1 mg/kg | Not stated | Sedation / premedication | Moderate | 130. Morrisey JK, Carpenter JW. Formulary. In: Quesenberry KE, Carpenter JW, eds. Ferrets, Rabbits, and Rodents: Clinical Medicine and Surgery, 4th ed., Elsevier, St. Louis, MO; 2021:620-630.; 172. Wenger S. Anesthesia and analgesia in rabbits and rodents. J Exot Pet Med. 2012;21:7-16. — Source: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th Ed, p.782 — Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary 6th ed, Table 9.3 (Chemical Restraint/Anesthetic Agents Used in Rodents). |
Every held source for this drug and species, as printed. Where they differ, both are shown — the choice is yours, not ours.
| Dose (mg/kg) | Route | Source | As printed |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0.5–5 | IM | BSAVA Small Animal Formulary, 10th ed — Part B (Exotic Pets)p.2 | 0.5-5 mg/kg i.m., s.c., p.o. |
| 0.5–1 | IM | Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th edTable 9.3 | 0.5-1 mg/kg IM,172 |
| 0.5–5 | IM | Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th edTable 9.3 | 0.5-5 mg/kg IM, SC, PO |
Figures are transcribed from the cited page or table of each held edition and are shown for reference only. They are not dose recommendations, they do not feed the calculator, and none has been reviewed by a veterinarian.
Typical range: 20–40 g
If provided, volume will be calculated alongside dose.
Reference only. Verify against current literature before clinical use.
Blocks dopamine D2 receptors in the CNS, producing sedation and anxiolysis. Also has alpha-1 adrenergic blocking properties causing vasodilation.
Hypotension (alpha blockade) — avoid in hypovolemic patients. DO NOT use in giant breeds (boxers extremely sensitive — exaggerated hypotension). No analgesic effect. Lowers seizure threshold. Not reversible.
Species-specific contraindications and adverse-reaction reports for mice may differ from canine / feline reference data — consult the primary citations listed with each rule.
Acepromazine dose range in mice, with cited source references: IM 0.5–1 mg/kg Not stated. Reference ranges from cited sources — verify against current literature before clinical use.
Documented routes for Acepromazine in mice: IM.
Acepromazine is indicated in mice for: Sedation / premedication.
These are general warnings for Acepromazine across species; consult the mouse dosing table above for species-specific guidance. Hypotension (alpha blockade) — avoid in hypovolemic patients. DO NOT use in giant breeds (boxers extremely sensitive — exaggerated hypotension). No analgesic effect. Lowers seizure threshold. Not reversible.
Why a species-specific page? Acepromazine pharmacokinetics differ across species: dose ranges, intervals, and route preferences are not interchangeable. Cross-extrapolation from canine doses is unsafe in mice — the rules above are the citations specific to this species, not generic recommendations.
Sourced from published veterinary references; awaiting credentialed clinical reviewer. See our editorial process. Reference only — not veterinary advice.