Pocket Pet · Oryctolagus cuniculus · typical adult weight 1.00–5.00 kg
Acepromazine is dosed at 0.25–1 mg/kg IM not stated in source in rabbits, per Morissey JM, Carpenter JW. Appendix: Formulary. In: Quesenberry KE, OrcuttCJ, Mans C, et al. Ferrets, Rabbits and Rodents: Clinical Medicine and Surgery, 4th ed., Elsevier, St. Louis, MO; 2021:620-630. — Source: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th Ed, p.854 — Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary 6th ed, Table 10.4 (Chemical Restraint/Sedative/Anesthetic/Analgesic Agents Used in Rabbits.a,b). Acepromazine is used in rabbits for Preanesthetic; sedative; tranquilizer. Routes documented in rabbits: IM. A typical adult rabbit weighs 1.00–5.00 kg. ExoticRx lists 1 cited dose rule for Acepromazine in rabbits, drawn from published veterinary references. Verify against current literature before clinical use.
US trade names: PromAce, Atravet
| Route | Dose | Frequency | Indication | Evidence | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IM | 0.25–1 mg/kg | not stated in source | Preanesthetic; sedative; tranquilizer | Moderate | Morissey JM, Carpenter JW. Appendix: Formulary. In: Quesenberry KE, OrcuttCJ, Mans C, et al. Ferrets, Rabbits and Rodents: Clinical Medicine and Surgery, 4th ed., Elsevier, St. Louis, MO; 2021:620-630. — Source: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th Ed, p.854 — Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary 6th ed, Table 10.4 (Chemical Restraint/Sedative/Anesthetic/Analgesic Agents Used in Rabbits.a,b).Compilation only — we have not located an independent source that prints this figure. |
Every held source for this drug and species, as printed. Where they differ, both are shown — the choice is yours, not ours.
| Dose (mg/kg) | Route | Source | As printed |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0.1–1 | IM | BSAVA Small Animal Formulary, 10th ed — Part B (Exotic Pets)p.16 | 0.1-1.0 mg/kg i.m., s.c. |
| 0.1–0.5 | SC | Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th edTable 10.4 | - 0.1-0.5 mg/kg SC |
| 0.25–1 | IM | Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th edTable 10.4 | 0.25-1 mg/kg IM 0.25-2 mg/kg SC, IM, IV |
| 0.25–2 | SC | Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th edTable 10.4 | 0.25-1 mg/kg IM 0.25-2 mg/kg SC, IM, IV |
| 1 | IM |
Typical range: 1–5 kg
If provided, volume will be calculated alongside dose.
Reference only. Verify against current literature before clinical use.
Blocks dopamine D2 receptors in the CNS, producing sedation and anxiolysis. Also has alpha-1 adrenergic blocking properties causing vasodilation.
Hypotension (alpha blockade) — avoid in hypovolemic patients. DO NOT use in giant breeds (boxers extremely sensitive — exaggerated hypotension). No analgesic effect. Lowers seizure threshold. Not reversible.
Species-specific contraindications and adverse-reaction reports for rabbits may differ from canine / feline reference data — consult the primary citations listed with each rule.
Acepromazine dose range in rabbits, with cited source references: IM 0.25–1 mg/kg not stated in source. Reference ranges from cited sources — verify against current literature before clinical use.
Documented routes for Acepromazine in rabbits: IM.
Acepromazine is indicated in rabbits for: Preanesthetic; sedative; tranquilizer.
These are general warnings for Acepromazine across species; consult the rabbit dosing table above for species-specific guidance. Hypotension (alpha blockade) — avoid in hypovolemic patients. DO NOT use in giant breeds (boxers extremely sensitive — exaggerated hypotension). No analgesic effect. Lowers seizure threshold. Not reversible.
Why a species-specific page? Acepromazine pharmacokinetics differ across species: dose ranges, intervals, and route preferences are not interchangeable. Cross-extrapolation from canine doses is unsafe in rabbits — the rules above are the citations specific to this species, not generic recommendations.
Sourced from published veterinary references; awaiting credentialed clinical reviewer. See our editorial process. Reference only — not veterinary advice.
| Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th edTable 10.4 |
| 1 mg/kg IM |
| 1–5 | SC | Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th edTable 10.4 | 1-5 mg/kg SC, IM |
Figures are transcribed from the cited page or table of each held edition and are shown for reference only. They are not dose recommendations, they do not feed the calculator, and none has been reviewed by a veterinarian.