Reptile · Pogona vitticeps · typical adult weight 0.38–0.51 kg
Bupivacaine is dosed at 1–2 mg/kg local infiltration q4-12h prn (max 4 mg/kg) in bearded dragons, per 63. Carpenter JW, Klaphake E, Gibbons PM, et al. Reptile formulary. In: Divers SJ, Stahl SJ, eds. Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery, 3rd ed., Elsevier, St. Louis, MO; 2019:1191-1211. — Source: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th Ed, p.252 — Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary 6th ed, Table 4.6 (Analgesic (Including Antiinflammatory) Agents Usedin Reptiles). Located 2026-08-05: the only table covering this species in which the drug's own row prints this dose. The copy held is an ebook conversion with no printed page numbers, so the table is the citable location. — SOURCE EDITION: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary — ISBN 9780323833929, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323833929; Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery (Divers & Stahl) — ISBN 9780323482530, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323482530. Bupivacaine is used in bearded dragons for Local anaesthesia, Motor and sensory block of the caudal body (regional anaesthesia). Routes documented in bearded dragons: local infiltration, neuraxial. A typical adult bearded dragon weighs 0.38–0.51 kg. ExoticRx lists 2 cited dose rules for Bupivacaine in bearded dragons, drawn from published veterinary references. Verify against current literature before clinical use.
US trade names: Marcaine, Nocita
| Route | Dose | Frequency | Indication | Evidence | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| local infiltration | 1–2 mg/kg | q4-12h prn (max 4 mg/kg) | Local anaesthesia | Weak | 63. Carpenter JW, Klaphake E, Gibbons PM, et al. Reptile formulary. In: Divers SJ, Stahl SJ, eds. Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery, 3rd ed., Elsevier, St. Louis, MO; 2019:1191-1211. — Source: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th Ed, p.252 — Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary 6th ed, Table 4.6 (Analgesic (Including Antiinflammatory) Agents Usedin Reptiles). Located 2026-08-05: the only table covering this species in which the drug's own row prints this dose. The copy held is an ebook conversion with no printed page numbers, so the table is the citable location. — SOURCE EDITION: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary — ISBN 9780323833929, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323833929; Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery (Divers & Stahl) — ISBN 9780323482530, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323482530 |
| neuraxial | 1 mg/kg | not stated in source | Motor and sensory block of the caudal body (regional anaesthesia) | Moderate | 124. Ferreira TH, Fink DM, Mans C. Evaluation of neuraxial administration of bupivacaine in Q1 bearded dragons (Pogona vitticeps). Vet Anaesth Analg. 2021;48(5):798-803. — Source: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th Ed, p.236 — SOURCE EDITION: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary — ISBN 9780323833929, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323833929 |
Every held source for this drug and species, as printed. Where they differ, both are shown — the choice is yours, not ours.
| Dose (mg/kg) | Route | Source | As printed |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1–2 | — | BSAVA Small Animal Formulary, 10th ed — Part B (Exotic Pets)p.57 | 1-2 mg/kg local infusion or used in combination with lidocaine for intrathecal anaesthesia in chelo |
| 1–2 | — | Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th edTable 4.6 | 1-2 mg/kg local q4-12h prn |
| 1–2 | — | Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery, 3rd edTable 127.6 | 1-2 mg/kg local q4-12h prn298 Most species/local anesthesia; 4 mg/kg maximum dose |
Figures are transcribed from the cited page or table of each held edition and are shown for reference only. They are not dose recommendations, they do not feed the calculator, and none has been reviewed by a veterinarian.
Need the exact dose for your patient?
These ranges are per kg. Enter your bearded dragon's weight to get the precise dose and draw-up volume — unit and concentration math done for you.
Long-acting amide local anesthetic blocking voltage-gated sodium channels. Duration 4-8 hours (standard) or 72 hours (Nocita liposomal).
Nocita (liposomal bupivacaine) FDA-approved for post-op pain in dogs/cats. Cardiotoxic if inadvertently given IV. Do not use with epinephrine on digits/tail.
Species-specific contraindications and adverse-reaction reports for bearded dragons may differ from canine / feline reference data — consult the primary citations listed with each rule.
Bupivacaine dose ranges in bearded dragons, with cited source references: local infiltration 1–2 mg/kg q4-12h prn (max 4 mg/kg); neuraxial 1 mg/kg not stated in source. Reference ranges from cited sources — verify against current literature before clinical use.
Documented routes for Bupivacaine in bearded dragons: local infiltration, neuraxial.
Bupivacaine is indicated in bearded dragons for: Local anaesthesia, Motor and sensory block of the caudal body (regional anaesthesia).
These are general warnings for Bupivacaine across species; consult the bearded dragon dosing table above for species-specific guidance. Nocita (liposomal bupivacaine) FDA-approved for post-op pain in dogs/cats. Cardiotoxic if inadvertently given IV. Do not use with epinephrine on digits/tail.
Why a species-specific page? Bupivacaine pharmacokinetics differ across species: dose ranges, intervals, and route preferences are not interchangeable. Cross-extrapolation from canine doses is unsafe in bearded dragons — the rules above are the citations specific to this species, not generic recommendations.
Sourced from published veterinary references; awaiting credentialed clinical reviewer. See our editorial process. Reference only — not veterinary advice.