Livestock · Gallus gallus domesticus · typical adult weight 0.50–5.00 kg
Proparacaine Ophthalmic is dosed at 1–5 drops topical ophthalmic as needed in chickens, per Food Animal Residue Avoidance & Depletion Program. Food animal residue avoidance databank (FARAD). Available at Accessed July 25, 2020. — Source: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th Ed, p.653. Proparacaine Ophthalmic is used in chickens for Topical ocular anesthesia. Routes documented in chickens: topical ophthalmic. A typical adult chicken weighs 0.50–5.00 kg. ExoticRx lists 1 cited dose rule for Proparacaine Ophthalmic in chickens, drawn from published veterinary references. Verify against current literature before clinical use.
US trade names: Alcaine, Proparacaine HCl
| Route | Dose | Frequency | Duration | Indication | Evidence | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| topical ophthalmic | 1–5 drops | as needed | Not stated. Procedural use only — instil for the examination or procedure, not as a course of treatment. | Topical ocular anesthesia | Weak | Food Animal Residue Avoidance & Depletion Program. Food animal residue avoidance databank (FARAD). Available at http://www.farad.org. Accessed July 25, 2020. — Source: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th Ed, p.653 |
Need the exact dose for your patient?
Enter your chicken's weight to check these cited ranges in the calculator — unit and concentration math done for you.
Ester-type local anesthetic that stabilizes neuronal membranes by inhibiting sodium ion channels, preventing initiation and transmission of nerve impulses from the corneal surface.
Onset within 20 seconds, duration 15-20 minutes. Repeated use causes corneal epithelial toxicity. Never dispense for at-home use. Store refrigerated.
Species-specific contraindications and adverse-reaction reports for chickens may differ from canine / feline reference data — consult the primary citations listed with each rule.
Proparacaine Ophthalmic dose range in chickens, with cited source references: topical ophthalmic 1–5 drops as needed. Reference ranges from cited sources — verify against current literature before clinical use.
Documented routes for Proparacaine Ophthalmic in chickens: topical ophthalmic.
Cited course lengths for Proparacaine Ophthalmic in chickens include: Not stated. Procedural use only — instil for the examination or procedure, not as a course of treatment.. Duration depends on the indication — match it to the specific dose rule in the table above.
Proparacaine Ophthalmic is indicated in chickens for: Topical ocular anesthesia.
These are general warnings for Proparacaine Ophthalmic across species; consult the chicken dosing table above for species-specific guidance. Onset within 20 seconds, duration 15-20 minutes. Repeated use causes corneal epithelial toxicity. Never dispense for at-home use. Store refrigerated.
Why a species-specific page? Proparacaine Ophthalmic pharmacokinetics differ across species: dose ranges, intervals, and route preferences are not interchangeable. Cross-extrapolation from canine doses is unsafe in chickens — the rules above are the citations specific to this species, not generic recommendations.
Sourced from published veterinary references; awaiting credentialed clinical reviewer. See our editorial process. Reference only — not veterinary advice.