Pocket Pet · Cavia porcellus · typical adult weight 0.70–1.20 kg
Bupivacaine is dosed at 1–2 mg/kg Local not stated in source in guinea pigs, per Meredith A. BSAVA Small Animal Formulary: Part B: Exotic Pets, British Small Animal Veterinary Association, Quedgeley, Gloucester, UK; 2015. — Verified against Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th Ed, p.783 (2026-08-01). — Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary 6th ed, Table 9.3 (Chemical Restraint/Anesthetic Agents Used in Rodents). The copy held is an ebook conversion with no printed page numbers, so the table — not the page — is the citable location. — SOURCE EDITION: BSAVA Small Animal Formulary, Part B — Exotic Pets — ISBN 9781910443712, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9781910443712; Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary — ISBN 9780323833929, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323833929. Bupivacaine is used in guinea pigs for Local anesthesia. Routes documented in guinea pigs: Local. A typical adult guinea pig weighs 0.70–1.20 kg. ExoticRx lists 1 cited dose rule for Bupivacaine in guinea pigs, drawn from published veterinary references. Verify against current literature before clinical use.
US trade names: Marcaine, Nocita
| Route | Dose | Frequency | Duration | Indication | Evidence | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Local | 1–2 mg/kg | not stated in source |
| Duration 4-8 hours |
| Local anesthesia |
| Moderate |
| Meredith A. BSAVA Small Animal Formulary: Part B: Exotic Pets, British Small Animal Veterinary Association, Quedgeley, Gloucester, UK; 2015. — Verified against Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th Ed, p.783 (2026-08-01). — Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary 6th ed, Table 9.3 (Chemical Restraint/Anesthetic Agents Used in Rodents). The copy held is an ebook conversion with no printed page numbers, so the table — not the page — is the citable location. — SOURCE EDITION: BSAVA Small Animal Formulary, Part B — Exotic Pets — ISBN 9781910443712, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9781910443712; Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary — ISBN 9780323833929, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323833929 |
Every held source for this drug and species, as printed. Where they differ, both are shown — the choice is yours, not ours.
The sources disagree for this combination. The ranges below do not overlap on a comparable route. This is not an error in one of them — published veterinary references differ, and reconciling them for a particular patient is a clinical judgement.
| Dose (mg/kg) | Route | Source | As printed |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1–2 | — | BSAVA Small Animal Formulary, 10th ed — Part B (Exotic Pets)p.56 | 1-2 mg/kg for specific nerve blocks (may require dilution with saline for local infusion) |
| 0.5 | — | Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th edTable 9.3 | 0.5 mg/kg |
| 1–2 | — | Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th edTable 9.3 | 1-2 mg/kg local nerve block |
| 1.6 | — |
Need the exact dose for your patient?
These ranges are per kg. Enter your guinea pig's weight to get the precise dose and draw-up volume — unit and concentration math done for you.
Long-acting amide local anesthetic blocking voltage-gated sodium channels. Duration 4-8 hours (standard) or 72 hours (Nocita liposomal).
Nocita (liposomal bupivacaine) FDA-approved for post-op pain in dogs/cats. Cardiotoxic if inadvertently given IV. Do not use with epinephrine on digits/tail.
Species-specific contraindications and adverse-reaction reports for guinea pigs may differ from canine / feline reference data — consult the primary citations listed with each rule.
Bupivacaine dose range in guinea pigs, with cited source references: Local 1–2 mg/kg not stated in source. Reference ranges from cited sources — verify against current literature before clinical use.
Documented routes for Bupivacaine in guinea pigs: Local.
Cited course lengths for Bupivacaine in guinea pigs include: Duration 4-8 hours. Duration depends on the indication — match it to the specific dose rule in the table above.
Bupivacaine is indicated in guinea pigs for: Local anesthesia.
These are general warnings for Bupivacaine across species; consult the guinea pig dosing table above for species-specific guidance. Nocita (liposomal bupivacaine) FDA-approved for post-op pain in dogs/cats. Cardiotoxic if inadvertently given IV. Do not use with epinephrine on digits/tail.
Why a species-specific page? Bupivacaine pharmacokinetics differ across species: dose ranges, intervals, and route preferences are not interchangeable. Cross-extrapolation from canine doses is unsafe in guinea pigs — the rules above are the citations specific to this species, not generic recommendations.
Sourced from published veterinary references; awaiting credentialed clinical reviewer. See our editorial process. Reference only — not veterinary advice.
| 1.6 mg/kg epidural |
| 2.3 | — | Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th edTable 9.3 | 2.3 mg/kg epidural |
Figures are transcribed from the cited page or table of each held edition and are shown for reference only. They are not dose recommendations, they do not feed the calculator, and none has been reviewed by a veterinarian.