Reptile · Tiliqua scincoides · typical adult weight 0.25–0.60 kg
Vitamin K1 is dosed at 0.25–0.5 mg/kg IM not stated in source in blue-tongue skinks, per 63. Carpenter JW, Klaphake E, Gibbons PM, et al. Reptile formulary. In: Divers SJ, Stahl SJ, eds. Mader Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery, 3rd ed. Elsevier, St. Louis, MO -- 2019:1191-1211. Carpenter Exotic Animal Formulary 6th ed, Table 4.9 (Nutritional/Mineral/Fluid Support Used in Reptiles). The held copy is an ebook conversion with no printed pagination, so the TABLE, not the page, is the citable location. SOURCE EDITION: Carpenter Exotic Animal Formulary -- ISBN 9780323833929. Vitamin K1 is used in blue-tongue skinks for Hypovitaminosis K1; coagulopathies. Routes documented in blue-tongue skinks: IM. A typical adult blue-tongue skink weighs 0.25–0.60 kg. ExoticRx lists 1 cited dose rule for Vitamin K1 in blue-tongue skinks, drawn from published veterinary references. Verify against current literature before clinical use.
US trade names: Mephyton, AquaMEPHYTON, Veta-K1
| Route | Dose | Frequency | Indication | Evidence | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IM | 0.25–0.5 mg/kg | not stated in source | Hypovitaminosis K1; coagulopathies | Weak | 63. Carpenter JW, Klaphake E, Gibbons PM, et al. Reptile formulary. In: Divers SJ, Stahl SJ, eds. Mader Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery, 3rd ed. Elsevier, St. Louis, MO -- 2019:1191-1211. Carpenter Exotic Animal Formulary 6th ed, Table 4.9 (Nutritional/Mineral/Fluid Support Used in Reptiles). The held copy is an ebook conversion with no printed pagination, so the TABLE, not the page, is the citable location. SOURCE EDITION: Carpenter Exotic Animal Formulary -- ISBN 9780323833929 |
Every held source for this drug and species, as printed. Where they differ, both are shown — the choice is yours, not ours.
| Dose (mg/kg) | Route | Source | As printed |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0.5 | IM | BSAVA Small Animal Formulary, 10th ed — Part B (Exotic Pets)p.320 | 0.5 mg/kg i.m. q24h |
| 0.25–0.5 | IM | Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th edTable 4.9 | 0.25-0.5 mg/kg IM |
Figures are transcribed from the cited page or table of each held edition and are shown for reference only. They are not dose recommendations, they do not feed the calculator, and none has been reviewed by a veterinarian.
Need the exact dose for your patient?
These ranges are per kg. Enter your blue-tongue skink's weight to get the precise dose and draw-up volume — unit and concentration math done for you.
Essential cofactor for hepatic carboxylation of clotting factors II, VII, IX, X. Reverses vitamin K-dependent coagulopathy from anticoagulant rodenticides.
Give PO with fatty food (fat-soluble). SC preferred over IM (hematoma risk) or IV (anaphylaxis risk). Long-acting rodenticides (brodifacoum) require 4-6 weeks treatment. Monitor PT.
Species-specific contraindications and adverse-reaction reports for blue-tongue skinks may differ from canine / feline reference data — consult the primary citations listed with each rule.
Vitamin K1 dose range in blue-tongue skinks, with cited source references: IM 0.25–0.5 mg/kg not stated in source. Reference ranges from cited sources — verify against current literature before clinical use.
Documented routes for Vitamin K1 in blue-tongue skinks: IM.
Vitamin K1 is indicated in blue-tongue skinks for: Hypovitaminosis K1; coagulopathies.
These are general warnings for Vitamin K1 across species; consult the blue-tongue skink dosing table above for species-specific guidance. Give PO with fatty food (fat-soluble). SC preferred over IM (hematoma risk) or IV (anaphylaxis risk). Long-acting rodenticides (brodifacoum) require 4-6 weeks treatment. Monitor PT.
Why a species-specific page? Vitamin K1 pharmacokinetics differ across species: dose ranges, intervals, and route preferences are not interchangeable. Cross-extrapolation from canine doses is unsafe in blue-tongue skinks — the rules above are the citations specific to this species, not generic recommendations.
Sourced from published veterinary references; awaiting credentialed clinical reviewer. See our editorial process. Reference only — not veterinary advice.