Pocket Pet · Oryctolagus cuniculus · typical adult weight 1.00–5.00 kg
Yohimbine is dosed at 0.2–1 mg/kg IM, IV not stated in source in rabbits, per GillettCS. Selected drug dosages and clinical reference data. In: Manning PJ, Ringler DH, Newcomer CE, eds. The Biology of the Laboratory Rabbit, 2nd ed., Academic Press, San Diego, CA; 1994:467-472. — Source: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th Ed, p.865 — Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary 6th ed, Table 10.4 (Chemical Restraint/Sedative/Anesthetic/Analgesic Agents Used in Rabbits.a,b). The copy held is an ebook conversion with no printed page numbers, so the table — not the page — is the citable location. — SOURCE EDITION: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary — ISBN 9780323833929, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323833929. Yohimbine is used in rabbits for Alpha2-adrenergic antagonist; xylazine reversal. Routes documented in rabbits: IM, IV. A typical adult rabbit weighs 1.00–5.00 kg. ExoticRx lists 1 cited dose rule for Yohimbine in rabbits, drawn from published veterinary references. Verify against current literature before clinical use.
US trade names: Yobine
| Route | Dose | Frequency | Indication | Evidence | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IM, IV | 0.2–1 mg/kg | not stated in source | Alpha2-adrenergic antagonist; xylazine reversal |
| GillettCS. Selected drug dosages and clinical reference data. In: Manning PJ, Ringler DH, Newcomer CE, eds. The Biology of the Laboratory Rabbit, 2nd ed., Academic Press, San Diego, CA; 1994:467-472. — Source: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th Ed, p.865 — Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary 6th ed, Table 10.4 (Chemical Restraint/Sedative/Anesthetic/Analgesic Agents Used in Rabbits.a,b). The copy held is an ebook conversion with no printed page numbers, so the table — not the page — is the citable location. — SOURCE EDITION: Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary — ISBN 9780323833929, https://openlibrary.org/isbn/9780323833929 |
Every held source for this drug and species, as printed. Where they differ, both are shown — the choice is yours, not ours.
| Dose (mg/kg) | Route | Source | As printed |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0.2–1 | IM | Carpenter's Exotic Animal Formulary, 6th edTable 10.4 | 0.2-1 mg/kg IM, IV |
Figures are transcribed from the cited page or table of each held edition and are shown for reference only. They are not dose recommendations, they do not feed the calculator, and none has been reviewed by a veterinarian.
Need the exact dose for your patient?
These ranges are per kg. Enter your rabbit's weight to get the precise dose and draw-up volume — unit and concentration math done for you.
Alpha-2 adrenergic antagonist reversing sedation from xylazine and other alpha-2 agonists. Less selective than atipamezole.
Primarily used to reverse xylazine sedation. Less selective than atipamezole (also blocks alpha-1). Tremors, excitation, seizures at high doses. IV route preferred.
Species-specific contraindications and adverse-reaction reports for rabbits may differ from canine / feline reference data — consult the primary citations listed with each rule.
Yohimbine dose range in rabbits, with cited source references: IM, IV 0.2–1 mg/kg not stated in source. Reference ranges from cited sources — verify against current literature before clinical use.
Documented routes for Yohimbine in rabbits: IM, IV.
Yohimbine is indicated in rabbits for: Alpha2-adrenergic antagonist; xylazine reversal.
These are general warnings for Yohimbine across species; consult the rabbit dosing table above for species-specific guidance. Primarily used to reverse xylazine sedation. Less selective than atipamezole (also blocks alpha-1). Tremors, excitation, seizures at high doses. IV route preferred.
Why a species-specific page? Yohimbine pharmacokinetics differ across species: dose ranges, intervals, and route preferences are not interchangeable. Cross-extrapolation from canine doses is unsafe in rabbits — the rules above are the citations specific to this species, not generic recommendations.
Sourced from published veterinary references; awaiting credentialed clinical reviewer. See our editorial process. Reference only — not veterinary advice.